how I’m like Jack from Lost

We love the show Lost. Big fans. In fact, I’m currently counting down until the next episode. Only 70 more minutes!

When we first moved to the island, we joked about how we should get a blue VW bus like the Dharma bus on Lost. We wanted to be Dharma Initiative workers for Halloween (decided not to spend money on costumes.)

When we took a wrong turn one day and ended up at the marine labs, Bob joked about how he found the hatch. We liked this joke. Finding ways to compare our island to the Lost island was a constant source of entertainment when we first landed here.

And that’s all it was until I realized how Lost might actually parallel our lives here more than we had thought.

Caution: If you’re more than two seasons behind in LOST, this post contains spoilers. I’m talking to you, Brian & Jami! Hurry up and get the DVDs, lock yourselves in your apartment and don’t come out until you’ve watched every single episode. Then come back and read this post.

Back to the post:

See, I’m beginning to wonder if this place will ruin me for living anywhere else.

I wonder if I’ll become one of those people who says things like, “There are too many people in the city!”

I wonder if my driving will change. If I will become one of those drivers who hates highways having only a few roads to traverse each day on the island. Will I become one of those people who drives five miles under the speed limit? (gasp!)

My morning commute – which lasts only ten minutes and involves only three roads – takes me by a several farms, sheep, goats, chickens, valleys and beautiful rural vistas. I encounter only three stop signs. No stoplights. There aren’t any stoplights on the island.

How could my driving not change under those conditions? My commute is a drive through picturesque countryside as opposed to a fight on the jam-packed streets of Los Angeles.

It’s no secret that I struggled to adjust to the slower pace of life, the lack of restaurants, the lack of people, places and things in general. But now that I’m seven months pregnant, I’m finding this slower pace suits me just right. I’m in no hurry to get to a city these days. I’m enjoying being here.

I’m enjoying the added sunlight.

I’m enjoying the bald eagles, turkey vultures and hawks.

I’m enjoying the quiet. The peace.

And I’m enjoying the lack of options. Perhaps it’s because I’m facing something so big, so incomprehensible (giving birth, being a mother). Fewer options, tiny island, slower pace are all things that make my life presently more manageable.

The stress and anxiety I lived with on a daily basis last year while fighting foreclosure is a distant memory. Thankfully.

I’m definitely one of those people who believes that everything happens for a reason. And though Bob and I both resisted being here at different points, I do feel like we landed in the perfect place. I’ve alluded to this before. Just thinking about it again. I guess the island is growing on me.

Like Jack from Lost, I once couldn’t wait to get off this island and now am claiming that we’re here for a reason.

That the island is special. That it’s not done with us yet.

I wonder how far this analogy goes.

I wonder if we leave at the end of our two year caretaking gig, will we be constantly looking for a way to get back? Like Jack? Desperate to get back to the island. Realizing he made a huge mistake in leaving.

I have no idea. I just wonder. And it’s a good thing we don’t have to make any decisions just yet. I’m relishing just living. And also relishing the fact that as far as I’ve seen so far this island does not have a smoke monster thank you very much!

9 Responses

  1. I’m so glad we met, even if it was right before I moved.
    You’re reeling me in more & more with the idea of visiting!

    • Yes! Reeling works. Now let’s make it less of an “idea” and more of a “plan”!

      And I’m so glad I met you too! By the way, I read the Baby Foodie book to my belly the other night. My belly seemed to enjoy it 🙂

  2. It’s tough…I love my city time and I love my country time. If I had to choose between the two, I don’t know if I could.

    • Yeah, I bet that’s how it will be for me. I’m still a city girl at heart and I doubt that will completely change. But having access to the country and the natural world is so nice.

  3. I suspected that this might happen – When I go to the big city now it all feels so frenetic and I miss the natural world – what a place to have your pregnancy!

  4. Boy I wish I’d stayed with “LOST”….sounds like there are many good analogies for you.I cannot wait to get to your island!
    Love Mom

  5. Sheesh! Did I tell you were Lost freaks too? Sean tried to deny it at first (too cool for tv) but eventually he would be all nonchalant and say “when is the next episode of Lost?”

    We didn’t get into it until a few years in so we got to watch the first three seasons at our whim….I’ll never forget, we were given the entire season three and when Sean went to work one rainy November day and I was like “o.k. I’ll just watch one episode” …..nailed the whole season in one day….felt so bad that I watched them all…even considered lying to him and watching them all again pretending it was the first time I’d seen them…..he just laughed at me and railed through it himself!

    Glad the island is growing on you along with your cute belly…..I must say, you look fantastic with that little bun in the oven……say hi to that sweet Pablo….see ya Thursday!
    Cheers, J

  6. I have lost (hehe) track of you since you finished writing for the Chicago post. And then suddenly I thought about it, google it and I’ve missed so much! Congratulations for all the good things happening to both of you!! Your posts gave me a perspective on things happening to us at the time (my husband not having a job, debts that we were getting into, etc).

    Now, about Lost…I don’t watch it, but my husband does. He actually informed me that he wasn’t going to be available during the season premier. And last Tusday, every time that there was a break, he will come to see me in the other room and complained that:
    – “There are too many commercials!!!”
    – “They’re dead, they are really dead” (I asked him who just to pretend that I cared)
    – “It’s almost over (buaahh!!), it’s almost over”
    That’s how much he likes the show, I mean, our desktop image is a series of numbers!

    In other subjects…We are thinking about having a baby, I already started taking the folic acid and I’m getting in “baby mood” which means mixed feelings all the time: I’m scared, anxious, excited, worried, happy, etc. And since we aren’t sharing this with anyone but my doctor (until I’m around 2 moths pregnant), reading your experiences gives me a sense of camaraderie (it’s the best word I cound think of, given that english is not my native language), thank you for sharing your thoughts with the rest of the world!

    • Hey Bery,
      Thanks so much for your message. I’m glad you found the new blog! Especially given your “baby mood.” Good luck with everything and thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

