20 weeks pregnant

So I am 20-Weeks pregnant. Yay! Half-way there!

Yesterday I had my monthly appointment with my midwife. Normally she comes to Friday Harbor once a month. But this month she wasn’t able to make the trip which meant a trip to Orcas Island.

I lined up at 1:45 PM for the 2:05 inter-island ferry to Orcas for a 3:30 PM appointment. Lucky for me it was a beautiful day. When the weather cooperates, the ferry can take the ‘shortcut’ which only takes 30  minutes.

I arrive at Orcas at 2:35. It’s about a 15 minute drive to Eastsound. Since I’m early, I kill a little time by driving around Eastsound. It’s such a cute town and so inviting on a sunny day.

I arrive at my appointment at 3:07. My midwife is able to see me early. Good news. I leave the appointment at 3:30 and catch the 4:15 ferry with plenty of time to spare. The ferry departs a few minutes late and I eventually arrive in Friday Harbor at 5:00.

All in all for a 25 minute appointment, it takes 3 hours and 15 minutes. That’s actually not too bad. If you don’t time the ferries right, it can take much longer.

The cost for the trip is $17.95 for a round-trip ticket. Which is pretty pricey as far as I’m concerned. But we can save some money by buying the 10-ride when we need to start going to Orcas more often for appointments.

The report from my midwife? All is well.

Here are the details for those interested:

–The top of my uterus is at my belly button

–My weight gain is right on track (I’ve gained 9 lbs total)

–The baby’s heart beat is strong (he was moving around A LOT)

–My blood pressure is low- but this is normal for mid-pregnancy.

So, there it is. I’m half-way there.

By the way, this is what I look like at 20 weeks:

8 Responses

  1. You look happy and healthy. Glad to hear everything is going well. And so happy that you shared pictures of the belly. Baby belly is just the cutest thing in the world! Congratulations on the halfway mark! He’ll be here before ya know it! Keep those pictures rolling in. 🙂

  2. What wonderful stories you’ll have to tell little Mal about taking the ferry to get to the mid-wife. He will be a water baby and he comes by it so naturally seeing that his great-Grandad’s people were ship builders in Scotland…and here you are travelling by water for his health and welfare.Very appropriate.
    Love Mom

    • Mom, such a great point! Yesterday afternoon we took Pablo for a walk at the Friday Harbor Marina and the smell in the air took me back all the way to North Star and Grandma & Grandpa’s sailboat. It was such a visceral moment. I’ll have to write a post about the Scottish Jeffreys and their ship building past. And in order to write the post, we’ll have to go to Scotland first for research. How can we make that happen?!

  3. You look terrific.

    Glad to hear the baby is well. And that your uterus is where it’s supposed to be.

  4. Such a cute picture 🙂 Glad all is well!

  5. What joy to see your sweet baby in tummy! I am so happy for you. Isn’t being pregnant an wonderful experience? You look great Steph.

    Much love,
    Jeanne

  6. Your baby bump is very cute. In a few short months you’ll be sending pics of your little guy! So happy you’re blogging again.
    Shirley

  7. Took me a while to find your new blog so this is a bit late but if you want to save some money and walk on the ferry we will be glad to come pick you up and drop you off when you come to Orcas.

    Give me a call if you want a ride.

    Ron Kinner

Leave a Reply

